Table Tennis is a Sport

Table Tennis service rules

Question:Is Any Table Tennis Serve That Hits the Net and Goes Over the Net a Let Serve?

I have a question about table tennis and I can't really find a answer, and I'm entering a tournament Thursday so if you can get back to me ASAP it would be appreciated.

My question is "If I serve the ball and it hits the net and goes over but goes off the table and doesn't hit the other side is that still considered a net serve?

Jimmy

Answer: Hi Jimmy, the quick answer to your question is nope, it's a fault. It's only a let if it hits the net and then hits the other side of the table as well. According to the Laws of Table Tennis - Section 2.9:
2.9 A Let
2.9.1 The rally shall be a let
2.9.1.1 if in service the ball, in passing over or around the net assembly, touches it, provided the service is otherwise good or the ball is obstructed by the receiver or his partner;

For the service to be otherwise good, it must comply with all the other requirements for a good service, including Law 2.6.3:

So as you can see, if the serve hits the net, it must then touch the receiver's court in order to be a let. If it misses the receiver's court, it is a point for the receiver.

Source: tabletennis.about.com
RELATED VIDEO
Table Tennis - Doubles Spectacular [HD]
Table Tennis - Doubles Spectacular [HD]
Basic Serve in Table Tennis
Basic Serve in Table Tennis
Matt Winkler talks new table tennis service rules with
Matt Winkler talks new table tennis service rules with ...
RELATED FACTS
Share this Post

Related posts

Table Tennis serve rules

Table Tennis serve rules

NOVEMBER 20, 2017

Scoring A match is played best 3 of 5 games (or 4/7 or 5/9). For each game, the first player to reach 11 points wins that…

Read More
Table Tennis Scoring rules

Table Tennis Scoring rules

NOVEMBER 20, 2017

A novice tennis fan would not be blamed for being confused about who is winning a tennis match since one must learn the language…

Read More