1_6.jpg

Table Tennis rules volley

Question: Can I Volley the Ball in Table Tennis/ Ping-Pong?

Question 1: On a return can you hit the ball directly out of the air without it hitting the table first?

Question 2: If Player #1 serves or returns a ball that goes beyond the other side of the table, and the ball comes in contact with Player #2's paddle, does Player #1 get the point?

Answer: According to the rules of Table Tennis, a player can't hit the ball until it has bounced on his side of the table. The rules for this answer are as follows:

Law 2.5.8 A player obstructs the ball if he, or anything he wears or carries, touches it in play when it is above or travelling towards the playing surface, not having touched his court since last being struck by his opponent.

and

Law 2.10.1 Unless the rally is a let, a player shall score a point

Law 2.10.1.5 if his opponent obstructs the ball;

If a player hits the ball before it bounces, but the ball is not above the playing surface and is not travelling towards the playing surface the player wins the point.

Source: tabletennis.about.com
RELATED FACTS
Share this Post

Related posts

Simple Table Tennis rules

Simple Table Tennis rules

SEPTEMBER 26, 2017

I love dance, my mum loves Ballet and I want to do hip-hop and jazz so my mum says I can do lyrical and gymnastics because…

Read More
Table Tennis rules simplified

Table Tennis rules simplified

SEPTEMBER 26, 2017

As a new player, there are many essentials that must be understood before you can become an accomplished ping-pong player…

Read More