Table Tennis Doubles rules
My table tennis question relates to what the rules say regarding the service.
When you are serving, do you have to send the ball in between your opponent's corners of the table?
- Martin's Reply -
Thanks for your question.
No, you do not have to send the ball in between your opponent's corners of the table.
If you are playing singles the ball can hit any part of your opponent's half of the table after passing over the net.
As long as the ball hits the playing surface, the service will be legal. The white lines are part of the playing surface.
However, if the ball touches the net during service, before touching the playing surface, the service must be replayed.
But if you're playing doubles, the service must only touch the right half court.
The only instance where the ball must go between your opponents corners of the table is if the receiver is a wheelchair user, then the service must exit between the two corners on his side.
You'll find lots more details on my pages here ...
Details about the playing surface ...
Details about the serve ...
Details about the serve in doubles ...