Philadelphia serves while

Serving rules for Table Tennis

Question:What Happens When the Server Misses the Ball When Serving?

Hi! Does a server lose the point - when serving he tosses the ball - but the racket does not touch the ball at all and the ball falls? Does he lose the point or it is just a re-serve?

Thanks & regards,
Sanju

Answer: Hello Sanju,

If the server throws the ball into the air to make a serve, but misses the ball completely, it is a point for the receiver.

Law 2.6.3 of the Laws of Table Tennis states:
As the ball is falling the server shall strike it so that it touches first his court and then, after passing over or around the net assembly, touches directly the receiver's court; in doubles, the ball shall touch successively the right half court of server and receiver.

In addition, Law 2.6.6.3 states:
Whenever there is a clear failure to comply with the requirements for a good service, no warning shall be given and the receiver shall score a point.

So in the case where the server throws the ball into the air to start the service, but misses the ball, the server has failed to comply with the requirements of a good service, and so he loses the point.

Source: tabletennis.about.com
RELATED VIDEO
Table Tennis : Advanced Table Tennis Serving- Ma long
Table Tennis : Advanced Table Tennis Serving- Ma long ...
Table Tennis - Serving Training - The Final Solution
Table Tennis - Serving Training - The Final Solution
RELATED FACTS
Share this Post

Related posts

Best Racket for Table Tennis

Best Racket for Table Tennis

NOVEMBER 20, 2017

On forums I keep hearing people ask, “What’s the best rubber or blade?” The reality is that there’s no such thing. While…

Read More
Table Tennis Forums

Table Tennis Forums

NOVEMBER 20, 2017

For coaching questions and discussions. 61 271 For coaches to have their own discussion or blog area. Any coach can start…

Read More